27 Book Deletion

Books can be deleted a few different ways in Pressbooks. As a network manager, you can also modify books to have different statuses in your network’s Books page. This chapter will cover the following:

Different Ways to Delete a Book

There are three methods for deleting a book: one that can be done as a user, and two that must be done as a network manager.

1. User deletion

The most common way that books will be deleted on your network will be by users themselves. Users can delete books by clicking the “Delete Book” link that appears underneath the title of their book in their book dashboard in Pressbooks. They will be asked to confirm that they want their book deleted permanently. Once they do so, they will be sent an email to reconfirm the deletion of their book. After they have clicked the link in the email, the book disappears from the user’s catalog.

For more information on how users can delete their books, check out this chapter in our general user guide: https://guide.pressbooks.com/chapter/delete-a-book/

NOTE: User-deleted books are not deleted from the network, though as a precaution users are warned that they will be. Network managers will still a) be able to see that a book has been deleted from the Books page on the Network Admin dashboard, and b) be able to access or reactivate the book.

 

A book highlighted in red and marked as "Deleted" in the Books table on the Books page

2. From the Books page

On the Books page available from the Network Admin dashboard, you can hover over a book to see all actions that you can perform to that book. One of the options that appears is the “Delete” button.

The "Delight" button highlighted when you hover over a book on the Books page

If you click the “Delete” button from the Books page you’ll be brought to a page that will ask you to confirm your action.

Click the Confirm button to delete the book.

Click the "confirm" button on the next page.

You can also delete books in bulk with this method by selecting the checkbox for each book you want to delete on the left side of the Books table. Then, click the “Bulk Actions” dropdown menu above the table, select “Delete,” and click the “Apply” button.

Books selected for deletion, and the Bulk Actions dropdown menu open

You’ll be brought to the same confirmation page as described above.

WARNING: Deleting books with this method is permanent. 

3. From the Edit Book page

A network manager can access the Edit Book page for an individual book on Pressbooks from the Books page (Network Admin > Books). Either click the book’s URL, or click the “Edit” button that appears when you hover over the book.

The "Edit" button highlighted when you hover over a book on the "Books" page

On the “Info” tab on the Edit Book page, you’ll see a section entitled “Attributes.” In the Attributes section, there are five options: Public, Archived, Spam, Deleted, and Mature.

The Attributes section on the Edit Book page

Selecting “Deleted” will remove the book from access for all non-administrators for your network. The book will then display as “Deactivated” on the Books page. See the Books chapter for more information on the the other status you can set for a book.

A deactivated book on the Books page.

Archived, Deactivated, and Spam Books

If you need, book statuses can be more nuanced than just “Deleted” and “Not deleted.” You can also archive a book, deactivate it, or mark it as spam. Access these options either by hovering over a book on the Books menu, or by viewing a book’s “Edit Book” options, described above. Note that the “Deleted” option on the “Edit Book” page is the same as the “Deactivate” option on the Books menu.

Archived, deactivated, and spam books will display in different colors correlating to their status in the Books table available to network managers: light pink for archived books, pink for spam books, and red for “deleted”/deactivated books. They’ll also be tagged with their status.

Light pink for archived books, pink for spam books, and red for deleted books.

To readers, however, the effect is the same whether a book is archived, deactivated, or marked as spam. The book is not available to the public. If the book has been marked as spam or archived, the reader will see the message: “This site has been archived or suspended.”

This site has been archived or suspended message.

If the book has been deactivated, the reader will see “This site is no longer available.”

This site is no longer available message.

For more information on book statuses, visit the Books page.

Recovering a Book

If a book has been deleted by a user, deleted from the Edit Book page, archived, deactivated, or marked spam, then a network manager can reactivate the book and make it available to be edited or read once again.

To reactivate a user-deleted or administrator-deactivated book

  1. Go to Network Admin > Book
  2. Hover over the book you’d like to reactivate in the Books table
  3. Click “Activate”
  4. Confirm your action on the next page
The "activate" button highlighted on a deactivated book

To unmark a book as spam:

  1. Go to Network Admin > Book 
  2. Hover over the book you’d like to unmark in the Books table
  3. Click “Not Spam”
  4. Confirm your action on the next page
The "Not Spam" button highlighted on a book marked as spam

To unarchive a book:

  1. Go to Network Admin > Book 
  2. Hover over the book you’d like to unmark in the Books table
  3. Click “Unarchive”
  4. Confirm your action on the next page
"Unarchive" highlighted on a book that has been archived

License

Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

The Pressbooks Network Manager's Guide by Pressbooks is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book